My new novel The Marriage Lie out now

My new novel The Marriage Lie is out now in ebook, paperback and audiobook.

‘What a story! A domestic drama at its best. So many relationships in this book. All of them filled with tension beyond belief’ Robin Loves Reading

‘Ali has you hooked right from the first chapter’ Heidi Lynn’s Book Reviews

My novels The Marriage Lie, My Mother’s Choice, His Secret Family and Lost Daughter are published by Bookouture and have sold more than 236,000 copies. They have all been Amazon UK Kindle top 100 bestsellers and are available in a range of ebook formats as well as in paperback and audiobook. You can order the paperbacks online or from any UK bookshop that has access to Gardners wholesalers, which should include most independent booksellers.

My next novel is due out in spring 2022 and will be followed by another in January 2023. Both will be published by Bookouture and will explore the sometimes-fragile ties that bind women and families together, and how those relationships can be torn apart and maybe repaired for the better.

Here’s what Bookouture commissioning editor Kelsie Marsden had to say about my writing: ‘Ali is a fabulous writer. She has a real talent for getting to the heart of a story and nobody writes families like she does! Readers love the unbelievable drama and heartfelt emotion in Ali’s books and there’s plenty more of that to come!’

You can find out more about me, my writing and my novels on my About page.

About The Marriage Lie

My husband is asking me to do the impossible. But if I don’t do what he wants, he will tell our daughter everything…

Stella follows her handsome husband Rob to the beautifully laid-out table in the restaurant he’s chosen specially for her fortieth birthday lunch. As the waiter pops the champagne, Rob proposes a toast and their crystal glasses clink together in celebration. Stella knows how they must look to anyone watching. Two people very much in love, with the perfect marriage and the perfect life.

But Rob is about to drop a bombshell on Stella. He wants a divorce.

If she doesn’t give him exactly what he wants – the house, the money and full custody of fourteen-year-old Georgie – he will tell their precious daughter the one secret Stella has worked so hard to protect her from.

Stella has a choice to make. To fight for her daughter, there is only one person she can turn to for help. Someone she hasn’t spoken to in over a decade. If she doesn’t, Rob will win. But to do it means facing up to her biggest regret, and risks losing Georgie forever, once she learns the truth…

An absolutely heart-breaking and gripping novel about the price of keeping a secret. Fans of Amanda Prowse, Kate Hewitt and Susan Lewis will be gripped by this emotional family drama from the very first page.

If you enjoy it, it would be great if you could leave a review!

Amazon

Apple Books

Kobo

Google Play

cover of His Secret Family cover of Lost Daughter

His Secret Family was a UK Amazon Charts, Kindle and Bookstat ebook chart #1 bestseller. It’s an emotional family drama with a secret at its heart, and opens with a wedding that takes an unexpected turn when interrupted by two uninvited guests. You can check out what book bloggers have been saying about it on my His Secret Family reviews page. Here’s His Secret Family on Amazon.

Lost Daughter is about Rachel, whose life has unravelled since her husband has been given custody of their young daughter Becca after a messy break-up. You can read bloggers’ responses to the book on my Lost Daughter reviews page. Here’s Lost Daughter on Amazon.

My Mother’s Choice is about teenage Dani’s quest to find out what really happened to her mother. She has always assumed that nobody talks about Laura because they are sad about her. But what if it’s because they are guilty? Here’s where you can read blog reviews of My Mother’s Choice and here’s My Mother’s Choice on Amazon.

Here’s Bookouture publishing director Kathryn Taussig on my writing: ‘It’s such a rare thing to find an author who can write family drama well, and for this reason I’m over the moon to be publishing Ali Mercer. Her writing is beautiful, thoughtful and moving. Her characters are believably flawed and yet endlessly relatable and her stories are engrossing.’

Bookouture commissioning editor Cara Chimirri said this about my books: ‘I am such a fan of her beautiful writing and the way she can tell the most emotionally impactful stories with the lightest of touches. I can’t wait to get more of her brilliant novels into the hands of her existing fans and also bring them to new readers everywhere.’