My new novel out now!

My new novel The Family I Lost is now available in Kindle ebook, Audible audiobook and paperback, published by Bookouture. Here’s where you can buy The Family I Lost on Amazon and you can also order it from all good bookshops.

My novels The Marriage Lie, My Mother’s Choice, His Secret Family and Lost Daughter, also published by Bookouture, have sold more than 250,000 copies. They have all been Amazon UK Kindle top 100 bestsellers and are available in a range of ebook formats as well as in paperback and audiobook. You can order the paperbacks online or from any UK bookshop that has access to Gardners wholesalers, which should include most independent booksellers.

Here’s what Bookouture commissioning editor Kelsie Marsden had to say about my writing: ‘Ali is a fabulous writer. She has a real talent for getting to the heart of a story and nobody writes families like she does! Readers love the unbelievable drama and heartfelt emotion in Ali’s books and there’s plenty more of that to come!’

You can find out more about me, my writing and my novels on my About page. My next novel is due out in January 2023.

The Family I Lost

There are two little girls in the photo. I instantly recognise myself as the small, dark-haired child in the purple dress. But who is the girl with the long blonde hair laughing at the camera? And why is the photograph here, in a stranger’s house?

When I find the tattered picture hidden away at the back of a dusty cupboard in Amy’s house my mouth goes dry with shock. Though I haven’t known Amy for very long, I love looking after her young children, in her picture-perfect hilltop house with its sprawling wildflower garden and bright, airy kitchen. After feeling lost for months, reeling from the accident that tore everything apart, I hoped this was my chance to turn my life around.

But I can’t shake the feeling that I’ve been here before. I know this house somehow, the curve of the staircase and the view from the attic window are so familiar. I can feel it in my bones. What isn’t she telling me?

I can’t help noticing things that don’t add up: Amy’s guarded behaviour when I ask questions about her past, the whispered stories I overhear in the village and the locked room downstairs I’m not allowed to enter.

My mother always told me we didn’t have any family, that it was just the two of us against the world. I’ve always been sure she was hiding something. Maybe this house will give me the answers I’ve been searching for…

But am I ready to unlock the secrets of my past? Or should I have stayed well away?

A gripping and emotional novel about a dark family secret and the complicated relationships between mothers and daughters. An unputdownable page-turner for fans of Amanda Prowse, Susan Lewis and Kerry Fisher.

His Secret Family

cover of His Secret FamilyHis Secret Family was a UK Amazon Charts, Kindle and Bookstat ebook chart #1 bestseller. It’s an emotional family drama with a secret at its heart, and opens with a wedding that takes an unexpected turn when interrupted by two uninvited guests. You can check out what readers have been saying about it on my His Secret Family reviews page. Here’s His Secret Family on Amazon.

Lost Daughter

Lost Daughter is about Rachel, whose life has unravelled since her husband has been given custody of their young daughter Becca after a messy break-up. You can check out readers’ responses to the book on my Lost Daughter reviews page. Here’s Lost Daughter on Amazon.

My Mother’s Choice

My Mother’s Choice is about teenage Dani’s quest to find out what really happened to her mother. She has always assumed that nobody talks about Laura because they are sad about her. But what if it’s because they are guilty? Here’s where you can read readers’ reviews of My Mother’s Choice and here’s My Mother’s Choice on Amazon.

The Marriage Lie

cover of The Marriage LieThe Marriage Lie opens with Stella’s handsome husband Rob taking her out for lunch on her 40th birthday, only to drop a bombshell on her. He wants a divorce, and he wants custody of their fourteen-year-old daughter Georgie, and if she doesn’t agree to his terms he’s going to make sure Georgie finds out the secret Stella has worked so hard to protect her from. Here are some highlights from readers’ reviews of The Marriage Lie, and here’s The Marriage Lie on Amazon.

Here’s Bookouture publishing director Kathryn Taussig on my writing: ‘It’s such a rare thing to find an author who can write family drama well, and for this reason I’m over the moon to be publishing Ali Mercer. Her writing is beautiful, thoughtful and moving. Her characters are believably flawed and yet endlessly relatable and her stories are engrossing.’

Bookouture commissioning editor Cara Chimirri said this about my books: ‘I am such a fan of her beautiful writing and the way she can tell the most emotionally impactful stories with the lightest of touches. I can’t wait to get more of her brilliant novels into the hands of her existing fans and also bring them to new readers everywhere.’